Sleep

Get more sleep.

I haven’t been getting enough sleep. It’s hard. Sometimes I feel like I need to do more work. Sometimes I want to hang out with people or watch videos online, and before I know it, it’s late and I haven’t gotten done what I planned to have done. Sometimes I do my work, but get caught up… in reading articles and watching videos… online…

I get out of my house sometimes. I really do.

I can tell you don’t believe me. I feel that judgment through my computer screen. I can change!

I have to change. I feel cold and a tingling in my nose and throat. Either the 100% chance of snow tomorrow (after nice, balmy weather today) is communing with my body in odd ways, much like how birds always seem to know when a storm is coming, or I am getting sick.

I can’t get sick. I have things to do, people to see, Macklemore to support… Yeah, I’m volunteering for a Macklemore concert. What what, what, what?

So I’ve been eating honey like crazy. And… still… don’t feel like changing my routine one bit… it’s 11pm and I still need to shower and as usual, it will be midnight when I go to sleep and I plan to attend church tomorrow morning. If I’m feeling under the weather (har har), I will stay home. There are people with suppressed immune systems out there! If you are in the early stages of sickness, stay home. No one wants you around! Nothing personal. This is a public service announcement, all you snifflers.

This is probably why my body raises a white flag (completely made out of white blood cells, mind you) and falls ill. If you know me, you know that when I am sick, I am (wo)man down. It’s a forced rest. Maybe if I did more enforced rests, this wouldn’t happen.

“Sleep is a daily reminder from God that we are not God. “He who keeps Israel will neither slumber nor sleep” (Psalm 121:4). But Israel will. For we are not God. Once a day God sends us to bed like patients with a sickness. The sickness is a chronic tendency to think we are in control and that our work is indispensable. To cure us of this disease God turns us into helpless sacks of sand once a day. How humiliating to the self-made corporate executive that he has to give up all control and become as limp as a suckling infant every day.” –John Piper

“We have been talking a great deal about sanctification – what is it all going to amount to? It should work out into rest in God which means oneness with God, a oneness which will make us not only blameless in His sight, but a deep joy to Him.” –Oswald Chambers

“Many argue that there is no time for rest in their busy lives.  Jobs, children, family commitments and various activities take priority.  But rest is something one must discipline one’s self to do just like all those other tasks.  The irony is that by integrating forms of rest into one’s daily routine, and especially resting on the Sabbath as God intends, one discovers that the must-dos in life become easier to accomplish.  Ironically, too, is that time spent resting doesn’t take away the much needed time required to carry out life’s duties; rather, it seems to provide us with more time..” –Kim A. Talbert

Write a comment...

