Think Like a Runner

Think like a runner.

I ran my first 5k today, and I survived! Despite an utter lack of training and the terrifying anticipation of a) wheezing behind all my friends and walking it and b) needing to pee every ten minutes out of fear, I ran it in less than thirty minutes, with none of those fears coming to fruition!

The secret? I put one foot in front of the other and kept a good momentum going. I didn’t think about how long it would be or when I would get to the end. I celebrated the victories– one mile, two, three, with whoops and cheers. I encouraged others, including the volunteers. What I said to other people, “we can make it!” “almost there!” “yeahhh downhill!” I said to myself. I stayed in the moment, focused on breathing well and driving myself forward, propelling myself at a natural speed.

I need to do that in life. Focus on the steps I need to take now, keeping a good momentum going. Don’t think so much about how long a situation will last or when I will get to the “end,” or what “the end” should look like. Enjoy the process, celebrating the milestones with joy. Encourage others and in doing so, encourage myself. Be in the moment, breathe well and keep going at a natural speed.

I was able to get my laundry to spin finally. And then my landlord came and is now installing a new washing machine.

I also have a medal for my run. I think it’s a waste of materials and I don’t know what I will do with it in a few years, but for now, it is a treasure. Sometimes you need something that seems frivolous to remind you that an event is worthwhile.

Write a comment...

