Falling

283534_245870015441986_4772245_n

Skyscrapers beneath me, I plummet downward, the wind whipping past, the skyscrapers suddenly flashing up close below, beside, slowly rotating as I spin with them. My heart and breath jerk for a moment and I know I can yank myself out, breathe deeply, open my eyes to the gray shadows and yellow lines on the wall, chest pounding, panting. I feel like I’m on the precipice of an impossibly high roller coaster, mind unable the grasp the depth of the blue sky beneath and all around me, one tiny narrow red track straight down until it becomes a pinprick omigodomigodomigod… no. Stay.

I lean into gravity like I’m belaying, but instead of hanging taut, I fall faster, not a dart or a leaf, but a thin sheet of metal, falllllflipflipfallllllllllllllllflipflipflipfalllllllllllllllllllltuuurrnfalllllllllllllllllllllllllllllahhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Write a comment...

