A Promise to Myself

253630_225330317495956_6817719_n

I will claim my space when in positions of power. I will do so responsibly. I will be kind. When confronted with defensiveness or pushback, I will pause, but not back down. I will stand in the tension and hold it. I will hold it until it turns into something useful. If it becomes painful, I will give it back, because it was not mine to begin with. I will take care of my stuff, my heart, and my body. I will live curiously, not fearfully. I will make covenants in community to make the world a better place to live and thrive. When a community rejects me, I will dust off my feet and go to the next place. When a person rejects me, I will let their fear roll off my shoulders like drops of water. When I receive praise, I will smell it like a perfume, but not drink it. When I fail, I will forgive myself, turn around, get back up, and try again.

In the end, I will remember that I am a candle burning bright, that I am warmth and I am light, and no one can take that from me.

Write a comment...

